It's common practice to evaluate security settings in your first conversion data before getting or working with your final data. Overwriting your working database with your final conversion would normally overwrite security options and users, which would then require that you re-establish all of those users and settings in the final data. VSys offers the ability to export your security settings and users from one database and then import them into another. To do this,
In your current database (the one that contains the security settings you want to keep), click on Export security from within Security manager.
Name that file something appropriate, and save it to a folder that you can access later. VSys creates a .vzip file here.
In the new database (the one whose settings you're going to replace with those from the previous database), click on Import security from within Security manager.
Select the file saved earlier. VSys will prompt you to accept this file.
Clicking Import here will overwrite all of your existing security settings!
Security import notes
VSys will create people who are security users as needed.
If a user already exists in VSys - and VSys checks this first using the user's User ID and then 16-digit ID code, VSys will overwrite the existing person's information.
Existing users who are not present in the import file are not affected, that is, they are not deleted or disabled.
Default user rights and security roles are imported. Existing security roles that are not present in the import file are deleted.
Security rights that reference specific objects such as jobs and groups may not import properly. VSys first attempts to match these to the existing objects using their ID codes and then on their names; if VSys can't make an exact match, the security right is not imported.